Radio Free Revolution

Carla: So I was on the Internets radio with my dear friend Doug Pagitt yesterday. Caryn and I are going to be regular Thursday morning guest hosts on Doug’s blogtalk radio program. So mark your calendars for 10:30 every Thursday between now and forever!

Yesterday I talked primarily about what we’re up to with all this Revolution business. You can listen to our conversation here. Doug blathers on about some other stuff for the first half of the show. So the real action starts at about the 24 minute mark. In the future, I’ll cut these files down so you only have to load and listen to the part featuring Caryn and me.

We are still trying to figure out how we’ll use our time but we’d love to talk to some of you on the air when you tune in–there’s a call-in portion at the end of the show. But you can also join in via live chat while we’re on the air or send us questions or topics you’d like us to cover. We’re up for anything!

On another note, who knows how much posting we’ll get done next week. Probably about as much as we get done every week. But just the same, I want to wish my dear friend Caryn a blessed Christmas and all of you as well. May you overcome expectations this season and have the kind of Christmas you want to have, not the one you think you’re supposed to have.

Caryn: And don’t forget, my radio-sensation friend, that the Mommy Revolution is going to be on Moody Radio’s Midday Connection on January 13 from noon to one! Really, can Oprah be far behind?

Thank you for that lovely Christmas wish, Carla. Of course, today has already been a day for the crazy record books so I won’t tell you right now the kind of Christmas I really want to have (clues: me, husband, fire, cabin, Northwoods, glogg…. Notice anyone missing?) But of course, if ever there were a time of year where I could support the expectations placed on moms (in this case, that they don’t ditch their children for Christmas just because the kids get a bit wild and take down her Christmas card display tree–again!–and keep running that darned Christmas train and pressing that stupid All Aboard! button…), it is now.

And really, that dream of me and my husband spending a peaceful, cozy winter-wonderland kind of Christmas is just that–a dream. And those fleeting, wistful things usually just signal a need for me to chill—take my life and my expectations down a notch.

What I really want–and I suspect most of you want the same—is some actual peace (both globally and locally–like in my basement and in my heart, soul, and mind) and some joy now and again. Of course, at Christmas we celebrate the birth of the One who can deliver those things.  Which rocks. So, Jesus, would you please deliver those things? Pronto? I can hear the kids fighting over that stupid huge Hershey bar I bought them—which I told them they couldn’t eat until AFTER lunch anyway—and I’m starting to dream of a lonely Northwoods Christmas again…. Amen.

Okay. So, yes, Merry Christmas to you too, Carla and all our fellow revolutionaries! Peace, joy, and hope to you all!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Robyn on January 6, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    The thing I like about this blog is that it seems to be themed around a topic about which I am passionate. It’s embodied by this quote:

    “The most important thing she learned over the years was that there was no way to be a perfect mother but a million ways to be a good one.” ~Jill Churchill

    Reply

  2. Posted by Judy Douglass on January 10, 2009 at 6:27 am

    Well, my new friend Caryn, you will probably get your wish in a few years. All three of my children are married, so we have to share them on Christmas. It has worked out now that all of them are with us one year (this year we had a wonderful time with them and their children) and with the spouse parents the other year. So every other Christmas my husband and I get a sweet time for just the two of us. People suggest all sorts of people we can join so as not to be alone on Christmas. We just smile and say we need some time together and it will be fine. Actually, it is wonderful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

