Listen to Us!

The Revolution is taking to the airwaves today at noon (cst)! Caryn and I will be the guests on Moody Radio’s Midday Connection with Anita Lustrea and Melinda Schmidt. We’ll be on for the full hour, so listen in–and call in–if you can. We’d love to talk to you!

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tammy on January 13, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Listening to you now–and I love it. Frankly, as someone who doesn’t always know how to define her faith, this was applicable to me and my mommy friends as well. You could take this to the masses. God, we need it. No pun intended.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Beth on January 13, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Unfortunately, or fortunately, I only got to hear the last 10 minutes of Midday. I almost lost it when someone said, “There would not be enough medication if I were to find out I was pregnant,” along with the accompanying and approving snickers and “ahhs”. Unbarring any serious medical/health reason, I cannot fathom a Christian woman saying that. Our society today, and Christians have fallen in the same trap, has such disregard for children. God calls them “blessings”. Why don’t we? If we truly believe that, why do we prevent them from coming? What are we “protecting” ourselves from?
    I heard that a member of Congress said, “You Christians only care for the unborn until they are in your own wombs.” How sad a commentary on Christians, yet it is so true! We have been so deceived by satan himself. Perhaps one reason we are losing ground in society is that there aren’t enough of us to take up the fight thanks to birth control.
    If God is truly the Lord of a Christian woman’s life, why isn’t He Lord of her womb as well?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Beth on January 13, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    PS, I ‘m sorry for the first part of my comment; that was snarky and I regret it. Please forgive me.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    I was the anonymous emailer, and Carla was NOT referring to pregnancy-ending medication. It was a reference—meant entirely as a joke, of course—that she would need some kind of tranquilizers to get over the shock.

    I have not considered ending the pregnancy of our SIXTH child, not for a moment.

    But, I am disappointed that I am pregnant.

    I was disappointed when one of my kids was born with a genetic condition.

    I was disappointed when my husband got cancer.

    I was disappointed when the furnace broke.

    God is ABSOLUTELY the Lord of my womb. And one of the ways He clearly demonstrated it was by stamping “VETO” all over our plans to not have another baby.

    Tuning in late was probably what caused your misunderstanding of Carla’s comment, and the overall tone of the email/response.

    I am not deceived. I know God’s ways are better than mine. But I am not going to pretend that I am overjoyed right now because that is not the truth.

    Jesus wept at Lazarus’ grave, and He was intending to bring him back to life.

    Blessings,

    Mom-of-Many

    Reply

  5. Posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    I am snarky a lot lately. I really understand. It’s so easy to hit “submit comment” and then go, ooops.

    I hope I didn’t jump all over your scene too much. Can I use the “nauseated” excuse?

    Reply

  6. Posted by Carla on January 13, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Beth, I’m sorry you missed the rest of the show as well. I think you would have had a very different impression of our conversation if you had. But since you didn’t I want to reiterate that yes, the “medication” to which I was referring is the various anti-anxiety/anti–depressant meds it would take to get me through another pregnancy and the infant and toddler years that would follow it.

    My kids are more than a blessing. They are, without question, the most incredible gifts God could have given me. And I know that I would feel the same way about another child were I to have one. I am confident “mom-of-many” will feel the same way about her baby.

    However, motherhood is not an easy ride–at least it hasn’t been for me or for so many other moms. When we are the kind of moms who want to do it well, it is exhausting–physically, mentally, spiritually. It can fill us with joy and suck the life out of us all at the same time. And it’s okay to admit that. If we believe motherhood is important, than we have to acknowledge that it’s hard, too–most important things are.

    Reply

  7. And Mom-of-Many, I’m proud of you for admitting you were less than enthused about the pregnancy news. You are certainly not the first—nor will you be the last—devoted, loving, great mom to feel this way.

    But I love how you mention Jesus’ weeping before raising Lazarus. He also felt a bit “unenthused” the night before his arrest—even though he knew the blessing it would be. This is comforting news—that Jesus gets this—to moms who wrestle with some of of this stuff.

    Thanks for writing in today! And congratulations—even if you don’t feel like celebrating right now. : )

    Reply

  8. Posted by Beth on January 13, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Thank you both for the grace you showed. I’m sorry I didn’t show more myself.
    I understood the gist of the comment about medication. I didn’t even consider it meant ending a pregnancy. I believe that it greatly grieves our Heavenly Father when we refer to His gifts in such a manner. We are so innundated by what the world thinks, that we forget to think for ourselves: what does GOD have to say about _____? (In this case, insert the word “babies/children”.
    What does God say about children? The Bible is clear: He says they are blessings. Period. Whether they are “convenient” or not, whether we have lots of money or not, whether they are “perfect” or not, etc. That He even considers sending them our way (at least my way) is mind boggling.
    I am finally learning, in my late 40s, that God never said life would be easy…or fair…or “blessed” in the way that I thought it would be. I am a homeschooling mother of only 4 children. I wanted more, but my dh did not. I still struggle with that. I have a 20yr old son who had to leave our home; he gave up a college opportunity of a life time and probably a young lady of a life time to pursue a very ungodly life. If it weren’t for my other three children, and God’s grace, I probably would not be here right now. For the last 12 months, my husband has been working in a very stressful environment for 12-14 hours a day. When he gets home, he can barely move. We have been praying and looking for another job, but God has not opened any doors yet…
    I say this to let you know I’m not one who has it all together. I have been and am still going through difficulties. I’m not a skinny, bread-baking mother of 10 perfect children. Maybe I could have been….I’ll never know. (Well, not the perfect or skinny part!)
    But my point is, that why do we even joke about children, if we truly believe that they are gifts from God? Why do we “protect” ourselves from God’s gifts? (And I know that God has a sense of humor, b/c I know a woman who was “fixed” and her husband was “fixed” and she got pregnant!) And what is broken, anyhow??? Why do we need to get “fixed”?
    Is motherhood hard? Oh, yes. It’s the hardest thing I’ve ever done. And I think it’s fine to admit that…to ask for help…to say, “yes, Mother would like to go potty ALL BY HERSELF!!”. But we have the indescribable gift of co-creating with God, and how it must break His heart to have His children join in the world’s view of His precious gifts. And that is what I meant when I said we Christians as a whole have been deceived.
    Mom of Many, I wish I could hug you. I wish I could come over and visit with you and make you dinner. I pray that if you don’t have someone to do that, that God will send someone. And I also want to encourage you: I am very happy for you. I know how hard it is when you go against the norm and dare to have more than 3 children. When I was expecting my 4th, at 41 years old, I could not believe the comments I got from friends and family alike (I was not only crazy, but I was OLD and crazy!). But one lady, my daughter’s dance teacher, came to me with tears in her eyes with joy for me. I hung onto that for the next 8 months, and I have never forgotten it.
    I am not very good with words, but I hope that I’ve shared what is on my heart in a God honoring way.

    Thank you,
    Beth

    Reply

  9. Caryn and Carla,
    thanks so much for being on Midday Connection today and for risking being misunderstood. That’s the territory of radio……Melinda and I live with it daily. But I love the joy of being able to respond on a blog. Thanks to both of you women for expressing yourself, “mom of many” and Beth. I didn’t say this on the air today, but I had 2 years of solid post pardum depression. I only had one child for a couple of reasons, one being a deep fear of having PPD again. Today I am grieving the loss of a bigger family…..but God knew what I could handle and “what I couldn’t”. We “feel” how we “feel”…..like being unhappy at the news of pregnancy when it was unexpected. It’s O.K. to feel sad and disappointed. It doesn’t mean that child won’t be fully enveloped by love as he/she comes into this world…..but, we often/always need 9 months to prepare for a birth, sometimes that prep is to “get used to the unexpected idea” and that’s O.K. Again thanks for your honesty…..and for apology…it’s all good stuff.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    Thank you Beth! What an kind thought. I believe you, too.

    My wonderful hubby is doing lots of sweet things like making dinner or taking all the kids out of the house now and then. So patient is he.

    But if you would pray for me, that would be the best!
    (And that goes for EVERYONE reading this.)

    The sad thing about not telling friends “too early” about this is that there are only three people in the whole wide world (my husband and two of our very closest friends) who are praying for me not to lose heart, and to maybe not feel like hurling every waking hour.

    BTW, I am not looking forward to the “old and crazy” feedback, either. (Been there, heard that.) I’d like to come up with some gracious and funny come-backs over the next couple of months, just to be ready.

    Enough about me. I feel like I’ve commandeered this blog!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Carla on January 13, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    Beth and Mom of Many:

    We’re so glad you’re both part of this conversation. No matter where we stand on the spectrum of various issues, we are all sisters in Christ. You two have modeled that in your conversation with each other. Thank you!!!

    And M.O.M.–consider yourself prayed for by a whole network of women (and the occasional Dude).

    Reply

  12. I love this! Beth and M.O.M.: you two should start your own blog—you’re good.

    What I also love is that out of this conversation, I feel stretched and moved and touched and provoked and am praying for women I don’t know.

    So cool.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Robyn on January 14, 2009 at 10:07 am

    There’s absolutely nothing wrong with feeling less than enthused about a pregnancy, or any other aspect of life. Blessings though they may be, children are a lot of work, stress, and sometimes hardship along with the joy, fun, and happiness they bring. That’s reality for most parents. God created us to experience a full range of emotions, which has been so articulately pointed out. Jesus was not happy-go-lucky all the time (rarely in fact), nor does God require us to put on a fake Pollyanna-esque front. I hope that the appropriate expression of any emotion would be met by fellow Christians with support and compassion rather than condemnation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

