Mother’s Day, Part 2

Carla & Caryn: Along with our rant about Mother’s Day and the church, we do sincerely wish all of you a lovely Mother’s Day. For those of you celebrating for the first time, may you relish your new title and the joy that comes with it. For those of you who have a restaurant brunch to look forward to, may the roast beef be hot, the cheesy hashbrowns cheesy, and the pie covered with real whipped cream. For those of you who want nothing more than the day off, may the checkout lines be short, may your favorite chair at the coffee shop be free, and may you find something super cute to wear on Monday.

And for those of you for whom Mother’s Day is painful–for whatever reason–may you be filled with God’s peace and comfort and the knowledge that your sisters at the Revolution are thinking of you with much love.

One more thing: a friend just linked to this beautiful post from Vinita Hampton Wright.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Steve B. on May 8, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    My awesome wife has requested Fat Willy’s Rib Shack for Mother’s Day dinner. Did I win the lottery, or what?
    http://www.fatwillys.com/

    Reply

    • Posted by Carla on May 9, 2009 at 7:24 am

      Steve–may the meat be falling off the bone and the sauce just spicy enough to justify more beer.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Rachel on May 8, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    Amen!

    Reply

  3. I’m so glad you linked back to Vinita’s post. Thanks to both of you for the mother’s day thoughts — I so much enjoy lurking here and reading about motherhood from your perspective.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Robyn on May 11, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Vinta’s post was beautiful. And needed. May God bless her.

    Reply

  5. Posted by April G. on May 11, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    I loved the link. I did talk with my sister a few times on Mother’s Day. There are not always the right words to say except, “I love you, and I am thinking about you today.” I had a wonderful Mother’s Day myself – I went flower shopping with my family and my beautiful daughter helped me pick out the flowers. I hope someday she gets to be a mother, but if the journey of motherhood for her brings more heartbreak than joy, I pray she has those around her to comfort and support her instead. Thanks for the thougftfulness of this blog!

    Reply

  6. Glad everybody is loving Vinita! If you like her post, you should read her novels! Seriously amazing. Dwelling Places is a MUST READ. And Grace at Bender Springs was the first (and maybe only) “Christian”‘ novel I ever brought home from the freebie pile at Christianity Today. (Carla: did you ever take stuff home? I’d take her stuff and Selah albums. I recently snagged the Duggar’s book too…). “Grace…” was wonderful too, I thought. Both books have some true Revolutionary Mommies!

    But seriously, go to Amazon right now and order up. Wonderific stuff!

    Reply

  7. I snagged kid stuff from the freebie pile because I put my children first unlike some moms who only took things for themselves.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Cindy on May 12, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Quit being book snobs (but maybe, being authors, you have a right to be…). I’ve picked up a lot of books for my kids (who don’t ready anyway) and for my church library. I, however, keep getting gifted with books: Dating after 60, Menopause and the Art of Computer Repair, and such.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Bookgirl on May 13, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    Here’s me being vulnerable: I woke up on Sunday and didn’t want to go to church. As I’ve stated in this blog before, I am single and the clock is ticking, and I would love a family of my own. I love kids and always have. And I struggle with the ache in a way that is difficult to articulate.

    And to add insult to injury, a “maybe” on the dating horizon was fading abruptly on Mother’s Day weekend. OK, abruptly is an understatement. “Maybe” turned into a clearly slammed door. (I know I’ll thank you for that God. But right now, it stings.)

    So I woke up feeling grumpy, thinking: I can stay home today. I don’t want to hear a Mother’s Day sermon. It’s my right to stay home, isn’t it? And honestly, it would have been OK. I know MANY women who must stay away on Mother’s Day.

    But I got up, went to church, and there was a very brief applause for mothers during the worship time and then just a “regular” sermon. Only it was one of the most powerful sermons of my life. It had nothing to do with Mother’s Day and everything to do with God’s love for us. Many, many people were in tears. It was a profound teaching, one that I will never forget. I later learned that the pastor specifically avoids “traditional” Mother’s Day and Father’s Day sermons. Bless him for that.

    That sermon was a real jolt in my walk with God.

    Thank you, Lord, for getting me out of bed, even though I’m tired of driving to church alone, tired of sitting alone, tired of “maybes” that turn into slammed doors.

    Thank you, revolutionaries, for your blog.

    Reply

  10. Okay, I hadn’t yet heard the ‘spiel’ about the “other wife” needed in the house. That is the most brilliant idea EVER! I need an “Alice” (from Brady Bunch) to move into the guest bedroom and do stuff around here while I’m being me. Why did I never think of this?!

    Seriously, ladies, way past all the funny thought that help me relate to you both as if we were born out of the same DNA, this blog is important. It’s making people like me realize that, while I am passionate about nurturing my family and supporting my husband, I’m also not willing to forget the woman my husband married and the woman who decided having kids was one of the many important purposes for my life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

